As of January 1, 2011, you will no longer be allowed to complete a PC&E course to fulfill the two-hour Board-approved Regulatory Review requirement (due once every six years). If, however, you have taken a PC&E course prior to January 1, 2011 and the course was completed within your two-year renewal reporting period, you may still claim credit for the course provided you report the course to the CBA prior to January 1, 2012. Completion of a Board-approved PC&E course will fulfill the new two-hour Board-approved Regulatory Review course requirement and the new four-hour ethics requirement.
For more information, please contact the California Board of Accountancy at 916-263-3680.
Effective for the December 31, 2011 renewal of your CPA or PA license, and for every biennial license renewal thereafter, you are required to complete 4 hours of continuing professional education (CPE) in ethics or professional conduct, pursuant to Hawaii Administrative Rules section 16-71-2.
This is a mandatory requirement for all Hawaii-licensed CPAs and PAs, not only for those who renew a permit to practice. The CPE hours must come from a CPE sponsor that is approved by the Hawaii Board or by the NASBA National Registry, or by another state board of accountancy.
For more information, please contact the Hawaii Board of Public Accountancy at 808-586-2696.
The following CPE rules went into effect June 25, 2010. For reference, the rule section and heading is listed as 1-08 Continuing Professional Education.
[b] Not more than (50%) percent (20 hours) of the required hours may be in self-study programs. Self-study credits are not available for carry-over credit.
[c] No more than ten (10) hours of CPE can be earned in a calendar day.
[d] When a meal is scheduled during the educational period, no credit will be allowed unless the schedule provides for (50) minutes of instruction after completion of the meal.
The old CPE regulations apply to those individuals who have completed all 40 hours of their 2010 CPE prior to the 6/25/2010 effective date. The new changes will affect those individuals that have not already completed their 2010 CPE. Courses that are more than 10 CPE hours must be reduced to the maximum of 10 hours per day.
For more information, please contact the South Carolina Board of Accountancy at 803-896-4770.
As a result of the comprehensive revisions to the accountancy statutes that became effective July 1, 2007, some new regulations were needed, and most of the previous regulations were no longer needed. Accordingly, the VBOA has replaced all of its regulations with new regulations effective September 16, 2010.
The Board set five criteria in developing the changes to the regulations: 1) remove regulations that are now addressed by the statutes, 2) add the emergency regulation (education required to take the CPA examination) that became effective May 14, 2009, 3) add interpretations required as a result of the 2007 revisions to the statutes, 4) clarify the existing guidance that continues to be applicable, and 5) eliminate the current regulations that were time-sensitive and are no longer needed and the current regulations that only refer to other regulations.
The new regulations will eliminate the confusion that existed largely because of the inconsistencies between the statutes as they were revised in 2007 and the previous regulations. Additionally, the new regulations will make compliance with the statutes and regulations easier, which makes it easier for licensees and their firms to conduct business in the Commonwealth.
For more information, please contact the Virginia Board of Accountancy at 804-367-8505.
Do you want to know where you can find additional information regarding state specific CPE requirements? Please visit NASBA’s new Web site www.learningmarket.org and select the continuing professional education tab. There, you can select a specific state and review its CPE requirements.